Be a Fan of Yourself?

So, I’m an indie author. I have two novels out, one for sale on Amazon and Kindle, the other a free WIP on Wattpad. How many people have read either? A few. How many people:
A. Loved it and ran around screaming its virtues
B. Thought it so-so, moved on
C. Ripped the book on a tirade of “You call this writing? What kind of word is negatrite anyway?!”
I have little clue, friends. However, what I am aware of is enough. The Writing Bug took a chunk of the blahs out of me after An Unsubstantiated Chamber was completed. Now I am up for almost anything. The punks are the best, and a grand author on Wattpad just got me thinking on the glossy sheen of decopunk (dieselpunk time, but more of the gloss and chrome than the grit and grime).
But what if only, say, 20 people ever read my art? Is it worth it? Yes! Want me to tell you why? OK, since you twisted my arm…
The first book opened my imagination. Now I want to explore these sub-genres, uncover what others have contributed to it. See what I can add to its development. But also, the burst of ideas has reinvigorated my live of English. Welcome back dictionary! Howdy thesaurus! Yes, Stephen King says to toss the last one, but we’re old buds! Man are long old, antiquated words cool. So if only 20 folks read my works and like them, that’s 20 more genuine friends in language and punkage. Plus, I avoid stalkers, which inevitably come in the wake of fame.
So what is this? It’s not true fame to have a small following for life. It’s more like a cozy fandom. Yes. That sounds good.
I’ll go with cozy fandom and work from there…
Still also letting the brain churn on musketpunk too. In case you thought I forgot.

One thought on “Be a Fan of Yourself?

  1. Right there with you, my friend. I have had a few people rave about my work. How few? Less than five. I have been ripped, but not for the book. I announced a giveaway, then was in the hospital on the end date. Out of the ten winners, one troll gave me one star, not for the book, but because it wasn’t delivered in a timely manner. She went on to suggest that I’d made up the hospital story to get out of sending books. Haven’t heard from her since she received the book, but I left the review up to remind me of how low people can be when I get my first trashing over the actual book.

    Your experience sounds a lot like mine. From the time in grade school that I discovered a modest talent for entertaining friends with the written word, I had this notion at the back of my head that I was going to be one of those celebrity-authors. Truman Capote was the big name in my youth, always on the late night talk show circuit, and having his gems quoted in New Yorker, and so on. It took a severe bludgeoning by the traditional publishers to break me of this belief, but now I have a nice little following who are friends, supporters, cheerleaders, and did I mention friends? I’ve met some wonderful people since I went indie, and once I let go of that ridiculous fantasy that got me started (and thanks for that, dream), I have not regretted it once. I am followed and appreciated by somewhere between twenty and fifty people, and how many people never achieve that in their lives?

    It’s good to hear that you’re in a good place, too, because I’ve come to know you as one of those “best friends I’ve never met.” Carry on, my friend, and have the time of your life. Read well, and write better.

Leave a Reply

